Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Aquatics | SA Swimming

Kate Beavon © Gallo Images

SA Youth Olympics shortlist grows

Christin Mundell and Kate Beavon led the way as the Youth Olympics Qualification short list continued to grow on the fourth night of swimming action at the SA National Aquatic Championships in Port Elizabeth.

There were two Qualification times in the 200m breaststroke with Mundell and Paige Brombacher both swimming under the required 2:35.43.

Mundell scooped the silver in 2:29.96 and 14 year old Brombacher the bronze in 2:31.93. Kaylene Corbett walked away with the gold in 2:29.90, while in the men’s event, Ayrton Sweeney raced past the competition with a quick 2:14.64 to Alaric Basson’s 2:17.78 and Bailey Musgrave’s 2:18.13.

Gauteng’s Beavon and Dune Coetzee dominated the 400m freestyle to both clock Youth Olympic Qualification times of 4:14.58 and 4:14.81, respectively, while Brent Szurdoki (3:54.81), Jarryd Baxter (3:56.80) and Jacques Jv Rensburg (3:58.86) made up the medal podium in the men’s race.

Gawie Nortje (16) confirmed his Qualifying time in the 100m freestyle, claiming the silver medal in 50.81 ahead of Jacques van Wyk in 51.22 and behind Douglas Erasmus in 50.66, while Erin Gallagher was quick off the block in a golden 55.74 followed by Emma Chelius in 57.17 and Aimee Canny in 57.40.

Gallagher also won the gold in the 50m backstroke in 29.44, while the silver and bronze victors, Marialla Venter and Kerryn Herbst, were more than happy with their Youth Olympic Qualification times of 29.55 and 29.81, respectively.

In the men’s 50m backstroke, Henju Duvenhage took home the silver medal in a Qualification time of 26.57, while Van Wyk went two better to win the gold in 25.78 and Martin Binedell the bronze in 26.61.

The 200m butterfly final saw three Qualifying times from Ethan du Preez (14), who won the silver in 2:02.73; Tiago Cordeiro (17), who claimed the bronze in 2:03.26 and Ruan Breytenbach (15), who finished fourth in 2:03.26, while the gold medal went to Daniel Ronaldson in 2:00.47.

In the multi-disability 100m breaststroke, the gold medals went to Michaela Kretzen (SB14), Alani Ferreira (SB13), Raymond de Freitas (SB14) and Johann van Heerden (SB9) in 1:49.10, 1:26.87, 1:23.83 and 1:12.16, respectively.

The SA National Aquatic Championships will continue tomorrow with the heats session starting at 09:30, while the finals will begin at 18:00 daily.

The staging of this event has been made possible through the support provided by Swimming SA partners, Sport and Recreation South Africa, Sascoc, National Lotteries Commission, Arena and Rand Water.


Youth Olympic Games – Day 04

Michael Houlie – 100m breaststroke – 1:02.57

Christin Mundell – 100m breaststroke – 1:10.72

Christin Mundell – 200m individual medley – 2:18.31

Christin Mundell – 200m breaststroke – 2:29.96

Mariella Venter – 100m backstroke – 1:01.86

Mariella Venter – 200m individual medley – 2:18.35

Mariella Venter – 50m backstroke – 29.55

Kerryn Herbst – 50m backstroke – 29.81

Henju Duvenhage - 50m backstroke – 26.57

Kate Beavon – 200m freestyle – 2:03.27

Kate Beavon – 400m freestyle – 4:14.58

Dune Coetzee – 200m butterfly – 2:14.73

Dune Coetzee – 400m freestyle – 4:14.82

Ethan du Preez – 200m butterfly – 2:02.73

Ruan Breytenbach – 200m butterfly – 2:03.49

Tiago Cordeiro – 200m butterfly – 2:03.26

Riccardo di Domenico – 50m butterfly – 25.00 (SF)

Luan Grobbelaar – 200m individual medley – 2:05.82

Gawie Nortje – 100m freestyle – 50.81

Paige Brombacher – 200m breaststroke – 2:31.93


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport