Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Aquatics | SA Swimming

Mariella Venter © Gallo Images

SA swimmers shine before Youth Olympics

The 2018 SA National Aquatic Championships wrapped up on Saturday with 18 athletes swimming to an impressive total of 31 Youth Olympic Qualification times at the Newton Park Swimming Pool in Port Elizabeth.

On the final day of the competition, Mariella Venter cemented her Youth Olympics Qualification time in the 200m backstroke with a fast 2:12.06, over 4secs under the required 2:17.83, with Samantha Randle claiming the silver in 2:17.50 and Megan Tully the bronze in 2:18.74.

In the men’s backstroke race, Martin Binedell was victorious in 2:01.02, while Brent Szurdoki walked away with the silver in 2:03.03 and Ian Venter the bronze in 2:05.79.

Szurdoki also bagged the bronze in the 400m individual medley in 4:27.06 behind Ayrton Sweeney (4:22.80) and Jarryd Baxter (4:26.72), while Randle went one better, winning the gold in 4:55.54 to Jessica Whelan’s 4:55.80 and Marne Frylinck’s 5:00.50.

In the 800m freestyle, Kate Beavon, Abi Meder and Dune Coetzee all dipped under the 9:00.16 Youth Olympics requirement to scoop the gold, silver and bronze in 8:47.07, 8:52.22 and 8:53.21, respectively, while KZN’s Aryan Makhija made the Qualification list with a silver medal time of 8:14.90 to Baxter’s gold time of 8:13.86 and James Freeman’s bronze 8:17.94.

Douglas Erasmus took the honours in the fast-pace 50m freestyle in 23.11 ahead of Gawie Nortje in a Qualification time of 23.12 and Armand Maritz in 23.54, while on the ladies’ side, Erin Gallagher was once again in top form, claiming the gold in 25.74, followed by Emma Chelius in 26.29 and Aimee Canny in 26.67.

Gallagher concluded the Championships with yet another gold medal, this time in the 100m butterfly, clocking 1:00.19 with Dune Coetzee a close second in a Qualification time of 1:01.26, while Henju Duvenhage, despite finishing fifth, confirmed his Youth Olympics Qualification time by touching the wall in 55.19, with the gold medal going to Daniel Ronaldson in 54.38.

Lara van Niekerk and Michael Houlie both raced to Qualification Standard times in the 50m breaststroke and walked away with the gold medals in 32.18 and 28.50, respectively.

In the multi-disability 200m individual medley events, Michaela Kretzen (SM14), Alani Ferreira (SM13), Ethan Pause (SM14) and Christian Sadie (SM7) topped the medal podium in 3:07.03, 2:53.33, 2:35.05 and 2:52.55, respectively.

The final team for the third Youth Olympic Games, which will be held in Argentina from 6th to 18th October, will be selected by Sascoc.

Sascoc will also select the final teams for the AUSC Region 5 Under-20 Youth Games in Botswana as well as the African Youth Games in Algeria, while the final team selection for the Senior Africa Swimming Championships, also in Algeria, will be done by Swimming SA.


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport