Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | Domestic Cricket

Godwin von Willingh and Sinethemba Mjekula © Gallo Images

Cricket SA promotes seven umpires

Cricket South Africa on Wednesday announced the promotion of seven umpires to the Reserve List Panel for the 2018/19 season.

They are Dawood Arkeldien, Gawie Botha, Jannie Erasmus, Mazizi Gampu, Sinethemba Mjekula, Abongile Sodumo and Godwin von Willingh.

The Franchise Panel remains unchanged.

Senior umpires, Marais Erasmus (ICC Elite Panel), Shaun George (ICC Reserve test/ODI Panel) and Adrian Holdstock, Bongani Jele and Allahudien Paleker (ICC International Panel), serve on the various ICC Panels.

“Congratulations to all our umpires on their deserved appointments for the approaching season,” commented Corrie van Zyl, CSA General Manager: Cricket. “Umpires are central to the game of cricket and we are fortunate to have an extremely competent group of match officials. The promotions are indicative of the successes achieved within the CSA Umpire Acceleration Program.

“We will continue to create opportunities for our umpires to develop through our exchange programmes with Australia, India and New Zealand.”

CSA Franchise Panel: Murray Brown, Johan Cloete, Siphelele Gasa, Lubabalo Gcuma, Shaun George, Stephen Harris, Ryan Hendricks, Adrian Holdstock, Clifford Isaacs, Arno Jacobs, Bongani Jele, Tom Mokorosi, Allahudien Paleker, Dennis Smith, Abdoellaah Steenkamp, Philip Vosloo, Brad White.

CSA Reserve List Panel: Rudi Birkenstock, Dawood Arkeldien, Gawie Botha, Hassen Dawood, Jannie Erasmus, Mazizi Gampu, Gladman Gaseba, Marlon Jansen, Kevin Lawrence, Sinethemba Mjekula, Bongani Ntshebe, Stephen Rex, Jurie Sadler, Abongile Sodumo, Godwin von Willingh.

CSA Match Referees: Abdulatief Barnes, Devdas Govindjee, Barry Lambson, Zama Ndamane, Laurance Matroos, Gerrie Pienaar, Shaid Wadvalla.


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport