Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | Women

Laura Wolvaardt © Gallo Images

Proteas women go 1-0 up in T20 series

The Momentum Proteas continued their winning ways when they beat Bangladesh by 17 runs in the first Cricket South Africa (CSA) Women’s T20I in Kimberley. They go one-nil up in the three-match series.

Shabnim Ismail was the pick of the bowlers, taking 3-19 in her four-over spell, including a maiden to help restrict the visitors to 110 for five chasing a 128-run target. Raisibe Ntozakhe (1-10) and Masabata Klaas (1-21) chipped in with a wicket each along the way.

Bangladesh’s Rumana Ahmed (36 off 41 balls) and Fargana Hoque (35 off 37) batted their side out of early trouble after losing the opening pair of Shamima Sultana (5) and Sanjida Islam (8) cheaply inside the first five overs.

Ahmed and Hoque then went about reconstructing the innings, sharing a 72-run, fourth-wicket partnership before the former was toppled by Ismail.

The bowlers squeezed away the overs, ensuring the tourists did not get over the line in the end.

Earlier in the day, the home side got off to a flying start with the bat thanks to a 77-run opening stand between Lizelle Lee (46 off 38 balls) and Laura Wolvaardt (30 off 22) after winning the toss and electing to bat first.

Trouble came after the loss of Wolvaardt at the hands of Ahmed (2-19) in the 10th over.

She and Khadija Tul Kubra (3-23) ripped through the South African top order, taking five wickets between them as the hosts slipped from 77 for one to 86 for five after 13 overs.

They lost the openers, the day’s captain Chloe Tryon (6), Mignon du Preez (1) and debutant Stacey Lackay (1) in rapid succession.

Marizanne Kapp added 11 runs to the scoreboard before she fell victim to Salma Khatun (1-12) off the first ball of the 19th over.

Suné Luus took the innings in her own hands, blasting 28 runs from 23 deliveries including two fours and six, moving South Africa from 113 for six to a healthier 127 in the end.

The next match will take place this Saturday, 19 May, at Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein. Play starts at 1pm CAT (SA, GMt+2).

Momentum Proteas T20 squad:

Chloe Tryon (captain, KwaZulu-Natal Dolphins), Lizelle Lee (North West), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng), Masabata Klaas (North West), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Gauteng), Suné Luus (Northerns), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Stacey Lackay (Western Province).


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport