Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Juul Jensen © Getty Images

Soloist wins Swiss stage, home hero in yellow

Denmark's Christopher Juul Jensen gave the Mitchelton Scott team yet another reason to smile on Tuesday by clinching a solo win by just a few seconds on the 4th stage of the Tour de Suisse after a long-range breakaway.

The Australian team had a very successful Giro d'Italia in May with Simon Yates wearing the pink jersey for 13 days and the team winning five stages, with Juul Jensen part of their eight-man team.

Juul Jensen had been part of a larger break, but dropped them from 15km out, and held his nerve as the pack homed in on him to clinch a rare victory.

Sunweb's Australian puncher Michael Matthews won the bunch sprint for second and Belgium's Yves Lampaert of Quick-Step was third at the end of a rainy 189km rolling run.

The results leaves Swiss time-trial champion Stefan Kung, who broke his jaw in a fall six weeks ago, in the race leader's yellow jersey after four stages after his BMC team won the opening team time-trial earlier in the week.

Thursday's stage takes the peloton up three steep climbs and through a series of chic ski resorts culminating in a summit finish at Leukerbad.


1. Christopher Juul-Jensen Mitchelton - Scott 4:35:56 (DEN)
2. Michael Matthews (AUS) Team Sunweb +8
3. Yves Lampaert (BEL) Quick-Step Floors "
4. Peter Sagan (SVK) BORA - hansgrohe "
5. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA) Bahrain - Merida "
6. Magnus Cort (DEN) Astana Pro Team "
7. Enrico Battaglin (ITA) Team LottoNL - Jumbo "
8. Michael Albasini (SUI) Mitchelton - Scott "
9. Bjorg Lambrecht (BEL) Lotto - Soudal "
10. José Gonçalves (POR) Team Katusha - Alpecin "
11. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) BMC Racing Team "
12. Maxime Monfort (BEL) Lotto - Soudal "
13. Pavel Sivakov (RUS) Team Sky "
14. Wilco Kelderman (NED) Team Sunweb "
15. Cyril Gautier (FRA) AG2R La Mondiale "
16. José Joaquín Rojas (ESP) Movistar Team "
17. Jasper Stuyven (BEL) Trek - Segafredo "
18. Diego Ulissi (ITA) UAE Team Emirates "
19. Nans Peters (FRA) AG2R La Mondiale "
20. Jack Haig (AUS) Mitchelton - Scott "


1. Stefan Küng (SUI) BMC Racing Team 13:26:19
2. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) BMC Racing Team +3
3. Richie Porte (AUS) BMC Racing Team "
4. Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team "
5. Peter Sagan (SVK) BORA - hansgrohe +16
6. Michael Matthews (AUS) Team Sunweb +17
7. Wilco Kelderman (NED) Team Sunweb +23
8. Sam Oomen (NED) Team Sunweb "
9. Gregor Mühlberger (AUT) BORA - hansgrohe +30
10. Enric Mas (ESP) Quick-Step Floors "
11. Patrick Konrad (AUT) BORA - hansgrohe "
12. Jack Haig (AUS) Mitchelton - Scott +32
13. Søren Kragh (DEN) Team Sunweb +33
14. Nairo Quintana (COL) Movistar Team +36
15. Mikel Landa (ESP) Movistar Team "
16. Andrey Amador (CRC) Movistar Team "
17. Enrico Gasparotto (ITA) Bahrain - Merida +39
18. Mark Padun (UKR) Bahrain - Merida "
19. Ion Izagirre (ESP) Bahrain - Merida "
20. Arthur Vichot (FRA) Groupama - FDJ +48


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming