Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Julian Alaphilippe © Getty Images

Alaphilippe wins Tirreno 2nd stage, Yates in blue

This video is not available in your region

France's Julian Alaphilippe took the Tirreno-Adriatico second stage on Thursday as Briton Adam Yates claimed the overall leader's blue jersey.

Alaphilippe, who rides for the Deceuninck–Quick-Step team, prevailed in a sprint finish to the 195-kilometre ride from Camaiore to Pomarance.

Belgian Greg Van Avermaet and Italy's Alberto Bettiol followed Alaphilippe, who won last weekend's Strade Bianche, across the line.

"I'm so happy. Yesterday we lost lots of time so I wanted to try and win a stage and today was a good occasion to do that," said Alaphilippe.

"I gave everything to win it, I surprise myself day after day."

Fifth-placed Yates, whose brother Simon won the Paris-Nice fifth-stage time-trial also on Thursday, heads the general classification from American Brent Bookwalter and Primoz Roglic of Slovenia.

"Today's finish doesn't suit me but I still managed to finish in the leading group," said Yates.

Friday's third stage favouring the sprinters is a 226km ride from Pomarance to Foligno.


1. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) Deceuninck - Quick-Step 4:48:09
2. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) CCC Team "
3. Alberto Bettiol (ITA) EF Education First "
4. Tiesj Benoot (BEL) Lotto - Soudal "
5. Adam Yates (GBR) Mitchelton - Scott "
6. Valerio Conti (ITA) UAE Team Emirates "
7. Primož Roglic (SLO) Team Jumbo - Visma "
8. Wout Poels (NED) Team Sky "
9. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN) Astana Pro Team "
10. Tim Wellens (BEL) Lotto - Soudal "
11. Jan Polanc (SLO) UAE Team Emirates "
12. Davide Formolo (ITA) BORA - hansgrohe "
13. Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA) AG2R La Mondiale "
14. Laurens De Plus (BEL) Team Jumbo - Visma "
15. Thibaut Pinot (FRA) Groupama - FDJ "
16. Evgeniy Shalunov (RUS) Gazprom - RusVelo "
17. Søren Kragh (DEN) Team Sunweb "
18. Tom Dumoulin (NED) Team Sunweb "
19. Brent Bookwalter (USA) Mitchelton - Scott "
20. Toms Skujinš (LAT) Trek - Segafredo "


1. Adam Yates (GBR) Mitchelton - Scott 5:10:34
2. Brent Bookwalter (USA) Mitchelton - Scott "
3. Primož Roglic (SLO) Team Jumbo - Visma +7
4. Laurens De Plus (BEL) Team Jumbo - Visma "
5. Søren Kragh (DEN) Team Sunweb +22
6. Tom Dumoulin (NED) Team Sunweb "
7. Sam Oomen (NED) Team Sunweb "
8. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) Deceuninck - Quick-Step +27
9. Kasper Asgreen (DEN) Deceuninck - Quick-Step +37
10. Wout Poels (NED) Team Sky +47
11. Jonathan Castroviejo (ESP) Team Sky "
12. Alberto Bettiol (ITA) EF Education First +52
13. Tiesj Benoot (BEL) Lotto - Soudal +54
14. Tim Wellens (BEL) Lotto - Soudal "
15. Simon Clarke (AUS) EF Education First +56
16. Thibaut Pinot (FRA) Groupama - FDJ +58
17. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) CCC Team +1:06
18. Zdenek Ntybar (CZE) Deceuninck - Quick-Step +1:07
19. Matej Mohoric (SLO) Bahrain - Merida +1:10
20. Rohan Dennis (AUS) Bahrain - Merida "


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming