Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | Tour de France

Peter Sagan © Gallo Images

Sagan avoids pile up to clinch stage and lead

World champion Peter Sagan won stage two and took the overall leader's yellow jersey on the Tour de France on Sunday after edging Sonny Colbrelli in a reduced sprint finish after a late crash in the peloton.

Overnight leader Fernando Gaviria came down in a mass high speed crash just 1.3km from the line, which Sagan and around 15 other riders avoided to set up a frantic finish.

Champion Chris Froome avoided a repeat of his first stage tumble, the Team Sky leader staying out of trouble as he goes in pursuit of a record-equalling fifth Tour triumph.

But another Briton Adam Yates was delayed by a fall and two of his Mitchelton Scott teammates were both also involved in separate falls.

Sagan, riding for Bora-Hansgrohe, edged a field of nine lined up for the final reckoning but had to deal with French specialist Arnaud Demarre and the Italian Colbrelli, who came within a hair's breadth of the win with a daring last second wheel push to come second.

Germany's Andre Greipel was fourth but never really involved in the struggle for first with the other three.

This video is not available in your region

"It's a great start for the fans," said Sagan.

"Fernando won yesterday and now I'm the one with the yellow jersey," it's been exciting.

"I could see it was going to be a good year," said Sagan, who was thrown off the Tour last year after being judged culpable of a fall that ended fellow sprinter Mark Cavendish's Tour.

The Slovak led the pack in the intermediate sprint behind solo escapee French veteran Sylvain Chavanel, and is now also top of the green jersey standings.

The race embarked in sizzling heat with local hero Chavanel of the Direct Energie team based in this Vendee Western France region being cheered all along some 155km of solo break.

Luis Leon Sanchez of Astana pulled out of the race after falling on a traffic island and getting up covered in cuts and climbing crying into the team car. Tsgabu Grmay of Ethiopia also pulled out.


1. Peter Sagan (SVK/BOR) 182.5 km in 4hr 06min 37sec
2. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA/BAH) at 0sec.
3. Arnaud Démare (FRA/FDJ) 0.
4. André Greipel (GER/LOT) 0.
5. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/EAU) 0.
6. Timothy Dupont (BEL/AJW) 0.
7. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0.
8. Andrea Pasqualon (ITA/AJW) 0.
9. John Degenkolb (GER/TRE) 0.
10. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/QST) 0.
11. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/QST) 0.
12. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/TRE) 0.
13. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (BEL/AJW) 0.
14. Bob Jungels (LUX/QST) 0.
15. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) 0.
16. Tom Dumoulin (NED/SUN) 0.
17. Pierre-Roger Latour (FRA/ALM) 0.
18. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 0.
19. Pierre Rolland (FRA/EFD) 0.
20. Koen de Kort (NED/TRE) 0.
35. Mark Cavendish (GBR/DDT) 0.
69. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA/DDT) 0.
75. Mark Renshaw (AUS/DDT) 0.
86. Julien Vermote (BEL/DDT) 0.
89. Serge Pauwels (BEL/DDT) 0.
102. Tom Slagter (NED/DDT) 0.
133. Jay Thomson (RSA/DDT) 0.
171. Daryl Impey (RSA/MIT) 0.


1. Peter Sagan (SVK/Bora) 8hr 29min 53sec
2. Fernando Gaviria (COL/QST) at 6.
3. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA/BAH) 10.
4. Marcel Kittel (GER/KAT) 12.
5. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA/DEN) 13.
6. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/QST) 14.
7. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 15.
8. Oliver Naesen (BEL/ALM) 15.
9. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/EAU) 16.
10. John Degenkolb (GER/TRE) 16.
11. Timothy Dupont (BEL/AJW) 16.
12. Bob Jungels (LUX/QST) 16.
13. André Greipel (GER/LOT) 16.
14. Andrea Pasqualon (ITA/AJW) 16.
15. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/TRE) 16.
16. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/QST) 16.
17. Jakob Diemer Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 16.
18. Dylan Groenewegen (NED/LNL) 16.
19. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) 16.
20. Tom Dumoulin (NED/SUN) 16.
43. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA/DDT) 16.
70. Julien Vermote (BEL/DDT) 58.
99. Daryl Impey (RSA/MIT) 1:07.
101. Mark Renshaw (AUS/DDT) 1:20.
102. Serge Pauwels (BEL/DDT) 1:20.
135. Tom Slagter (NED/DDT) 2:40..
165. Jay Thomson (RSA/DDT) 4:20.


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming